DEV Community

ColtonE37
ColtonE37

Posted on • Updated on

Build Anything? I Wish..

If you could build an app, website, or technology of any kind, What would it do?

I've always wondered this question, if given all the necessary resources.. money.. time.. motivation. Sitting here trying to think of something that I would love to create from scratch has turned out to be super difficult, yet only one thing comes to mind. Video games. The one thing I have always turned to as a way of escape and enjoyment, and have always had a strong passion for. But is it the way the games were built that I love so much.. or is it the constant grind and strive to be the best in any game I play? Honestly.. winning is just too much fun. To be able to build my own website to potentially put whatever I want gaming-wise is something that interests me very much, yet can't find the motivation to put the effort in. Even just for the experience in coding, something like this would be worth the time.

Who would it be for? How would they use it? How would you use it?

Honestly, something like this could be for anyone who would want to view the highlights, clips, images, or following the journey of doing what I enjoy most. Would it be the most impressive thing ever created? No, not at all. Would it be sick to create something just to show off what I love? Absolutely.

If money was no concern, time no concern; what would you do with your life and the skills you've assembled if you could dedicate it to one thing?

I've asked myself this question many times in the past, and the answer still stands as playing video games. I have had a passion for video games since I was 6 years old, and have always had the drive to be the best I could with whatever I played. I have met some of the greatest people online and have had some of the best experiences and memories created by just playing with friends. As everything in the world does, time passes and things change. Most friends don't have the time to do the things we used to anymore, and have to adjust their lives to fit their own situations. Video games to me are more of a way to escape life's stressful times and enjoy the times I have doing what I love. The more people say they are a waste of time with no real value, the more I continue to play, as most people don't realize how much they help. They connect people, putting each other and surrounding everyone with like-minded interests and passions, while having a great time. I would totally put everything I had into just playing anything I love if I could, yet we don't live in a fiction book. I have spent tons of time trying out different hobbies, thinking of different work I could do, and even go suckered to going to college to figure out something I had any interest in for money... coding is fun and exciting to learn when you are surrounded by motivated people and professors putting the time in to teaching valuable lessons, but if time and money weren't an issue.. video games is where I'd spend my days.

Top comments (0)