DEV Community

Daniel Trejo
Daniel Trejo

Posted on

Project 5 Capstone

I just completed my Phase 5 and it threw me for a loop. It was one of the hardest challenges I have ever done. I have never seen so many issues to debug and reasons I wanted to just quit but with every inch I climbed, I would learn something new and get that much closer to finally getting it done. The easy part was starting the project. Creating all the initial routes and models took no time at all.

The hardest part was re-familiarizing myself with React and all that front end stuff. That is what made this project take so long. Trying to remember how to code all the handleSubmits, handleDelete, etc... took so freaking long. There are tons of people out there that might look at this blog and say "Oh, all that stuff is easy", but I'm still learning and I plan to keep on learning. This program is so insanely good because not only do you get amazing teachers and staff but you also make a lot of friends. Having these online cohorts really made it easier to reach out and talk to other.

I definitely will never stop learning code. It is so cool and fulfilling to get a project working just right. It's worth all the struggle to me. For some reason specifically one of the biggest issues I ran into was my CRUD, usually that wasn't much of a problem but once I created one, the other stopped working which was super annoying for a few hours. Finally I was able to get them both to work but not fully. I am able to update fully and the delete worked on the first try, but any following attempts to delete would just throw me an error that I couldn't figure out.

If you are thinking about doing coding at all regardless of the field you go into. I fully recommend it because it is one of the most fulfilling things you can do. There is a lot of long nights and a lot of coffee, but I still think it's fun. One thing I learned is the importance of teammates. Working with a group on one project relieved so much stress because you weren't the sole person responsible for the entire project. Being able to bounce ideas of off people and ask for help is something you will be doing for the rest of your life and I'm totally ok with that.

Top comments (0)