DEV Community

danipo87
danipo87

Posted on

Creating a Cloud Resume (or How to Not Rely on Certs Alone)

Hi! Last time I talked about getting my AWS CCP cert, and I was so happy to finally have my foot in the door (or cloud I guess). So what was next?

Well, I bit the bullet and subscribed to A Cloud Guru. I'm currently studying for the Solutions Architect exam. We'll see how that goes! I've also been checking out how to get a career in the Cloud by watching a few videos. Well everyone has said that you just can't rely on certs to get hired, which makes sense. You can't just say you know AWS services, you also have to know them.

So let's pick a project, maybe ask what to do. ACGs challenges are a bit much. I'd love to create a recommendation engine using SageMaker and machine learning, but I don't know either of those! I checked out the ACG Discord for guidance, where I was turned onto the Cloud Resume Challenge. This seems reasonable, a few steps, not a ton of handholding, and results I can use immediately! Great! I bought the book immediately.

And thus, my challenge began. Its been about a week now and I'm making some great progress.

  • Let me be clear, I'm not a web developer. I learned html and css during my first degree curriculum (remember DreamWeaver?) but I'm not seasoned enough to be able to make a page from memory any more. For now, I'll use and build from a template to work the cobwebs out and add some React for some bells and whistles once I get the main content satisfied.

  • I put together a simple index.html and style sheet and put them into an S3 bucket. Amazon's documentation is really great and leading you down the path, and while studying S3 for my cert, I was able to get both buckets for my domain and subdomain running really fast.

  • I registered my domain with Route 53. This way I have my own personal website to use any time I want once I'm done without the user having to know that its being hosted on AWS.

  • The book recommended using HTTPS for the domain, which is not provided by S3. I would need to serve the website through CloudFront to do this. First I would need to create a custom SSL certificate though AWS Certificate Manager and apply it to my CloudFront Distribution. Thankfully I'm doing all of this through AWS, so I don't have to copy and paste and troubleshoot issues through a third-party DNS.

Once those steps were created, I was able to type in my address on my browser (and on my phone) to access my basic, black-on-white resume page! This must be how they felt in the 90's! Whew, well I think that's enough for now.

Next:

  • Flesh out the website. I've set up VSCode with the necessary plugins to do this.
  • Learn basic React to get a counter for my site.

Until next time!

Top comments (0)