DEV Community

Denice Soper
Denice Soper

Posted on

My first Hacktoberfest 2020!

My first Hacktoberfest!

Hi , I'm Denice, I am new to coding and new to DEV, I have been learning to code now for about 6 months (self taught), learning HTML, CSS, Javascript and a bit of Python. I stumbled across Hacktoberfest on a facebook post that popped up and decided to have a look and I'm so glad I did.!

Having read all about it and that is was totally suitable for beginners I decided I would have a crack at this.

I had heard about open source projects before but just thought they were for experienced programmers only really. Never would I have thought I could actually participate- I would not know where to start. But there were so many repository's set up for beginners to have a go at and so well explained that I took part and completed four pull requests.

My contributions included making a canvas artwork, making a personalised CSS card, a python joke machine and a To-Do list using JavaScript.
I have to admit I mainly stayed within my comfort zone of what I thought I could do apart from canvas which I had never really used before and had fun learning and playing around with this.

Thoughts..

I am so glad I was able to take part ,It was fun!! it has taught me how to confidently use Git and GitHub, it has given me confidence that I can contribute to open source and that I can look for some open source projects that I can help with at any time. It has given me the opportunity to take part in something meaningful. Okay so my contributions this time were purely coding exercise's really, but next year I will have learnt that bit more and next time I can contribute more meaningful code to open source projects.
So thank you Hacktoberfest and Digital Ocean!!

Top comments (0)