DEV Community

Cover image for Join the Star Wars Costume Contest on DEV 🌌
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

Join the Star Wars Costume Contest on DEV 🌌

Greetings, members of the Rebel Alliance.

Star Wars Day is coming up on Wednesday, May 4th and the DEV team figured there was no better time for you to use the force in a creative and fun way.

Your Mission: Assemble a Star Wars Costume & Win Prizes!

In honor of Star Wars Day, we invite you to use the next few days to assemble a Star Wars-themed costume and share a photo with us via the comments below.

Rules

  • Your submission (i.e. comment below) must include a picture of you or a consenting family member wearing a Star Wars-themed costume that does not violate our Code of Conduct.
  • The picture can be from previous years!
  • You must be willing to have us share your costume on social media so the world can celebrate with us! Leave your Twitter and Instagram handles in your comment if you'd like to be tagged.
  • Photos must be posted in this thread between now and Wednesday, May 4th @ 11:59 PM UTC.

Prizes

All participants who leave a comment in this thread will win a special Star Wars-themed DEV profile badge. We'll also randomly select a lucky person to win this awesome sweatshirt on the Forem Shop:

Star Wars Hoodie


Post your snazziest Star Wars look below, have fun, and remember:

“Your focus determines your reality.” – Qui-Gon Jinn

Top comments (43)

Collapse
 
rain2o profile image
Joel Rainwater

May I present my wife (Kristy) and father-in-law (Bob) as Rey and Luke. (I tried to blur the people in the background).
Kristy's Insta: @kristyrainwater
Kristy's Twitter: @KristyRain
Old man Luke Skywalker and Rey from Star Wars

Collapse
 
rain2o profile image
Joel Rainwater

And just for fun, here's me as Matt the Radar Technician.
Me dressed as Matt the Radar Technician

Collapse
 
westernal profile image
Ali Navidi • Edited

Its all i can afford🙂
Its all i can afford🙂

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

lol! The cat in the background is just too purrfect.

Collapse
 
westernal profile image
Ali Navidi

Thanks😸
Thanks😸

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

lol! That face. 😻

Collapse
 
nightwolfdev profile image
nightwolfdev

I created a Star Wars App using the SWAPI API for anyone interested.

May the source be with you, always...

Collapse
 
dillonb07 profile image
Dillon Barnes

May the fourth be with everyone!

My entry

Twitter: @DillonB07Dev

Collapse
 
tinkermakar profile image
Makar

father and son

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper • Edited

Well, I don't have a costume handy, but Grogu and I wanted to wish you a Happy Star Wars Day... greetings from the twin suns of Tatooine!
Andy and LEGO Grogu are on Tatooine, no, really

... and here's a little something for all you old school gamers out there:

megastyle.itch.io/esb-by-megastyle

Collapse
 
leo1612d profile image
Nikunj R. Prajapati • Edited
       ________________.  ___     .______
     /                | /   \    |   _  \
    |   (-----|  |----`/  ^  \   |  |_)  |
     \   \    |  |    /  /_\  \  |      /
.-----)   |   |  |   /  _____  \ |  |\  \-------.
|________/    |__|  /__/     \__\| _| `.________|
 ____    __    ____  ___     .______    ________.
 \   \  /  \  /   / /   \    |   _  \  /        |
  \   \/    \/   / /  ^  \   |  |_)  ||   (-----`
   \            / /  /_\  \  |      /  \   \
    \    /\    / /  _____  \ |  |\  \---)   |
     \__/  \__/ /__/     \__\|__| `._______/
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Here's my wife and I as Han Solo and Princess Leia.

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/articles/reeuh1o3zb3qctzz0ere.jpg

I wish I had a fuller picture, but apparently this was the only one we took this past year haha! If I can dig up some others, I'll come back.

May the force be with you all!

Collapse
 
steady5063 profile image
Mark Steadman

I try for every presentation I do to use a Star Wars theme of some sort . The last accessibility presentation I did at axe-con, I made light sabers emporium site:
github.com/Steady5063/axe-con-reac...

I even have a Star Wars themed Accessibility article as well :)

deque.com/blog/this-is-the-way-a-p...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very nice! 🙌

Checked out your blog post too. Love how you spun off the quote "Only a Sith deals in absolutes" and related it to the way in which companies will treat accessibility.

In the words of Obi-Wan Kenobi, “Only a Sith deals in absolutes”. The same goes with development teams and accessibility. There is no absolute solution that will add accessibility into the development process in one sprint. There is not one single line of code that will fix all your accessibility issues. However, you can add accessibility as part of the development process in small increments, which will eventually create a well-oiled and agile accessibility process within your development team!

Very nicely said. I recommend to anybody who catches this comment that they check out the full post!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awwww yeah! Sloan holding a lightsaber is definitely the image I want to take with me into the weekend. Thank you for that.

Now, to get together my Han Solo outfit... 🤓

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

A long time ago in a galaxy far far way I dressed up as Princess Leia for Halloween

Princess Leia

Collapse
 
cjsmocjsmo profile image
Charlie J Smotherman

My son-in-law TJ, his friend Gary and my grandson Gabriel.

Gabriel

Collapse
 
kwing25 profile image
Kendra Wing

My little Dachshund/Lab is my co-worker, pal, & wise little jedi master 🥰🧐🐶. ~“Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you?”
may4thpic

Collapse
 
shwethaaa profile image
Shwetha Jayaraj • Edited

Also alternatively, when I was 17 I printed an image of Darth Vader fighting a unicorn onto a white sweatshirt for giggles, though a bit worn down over the years haha still one of my favorite original apparels! :-)
ig: shwethaaa
twitter: shwetha729

Collapse
 
neoprint3d profile image
Drew Ronsman

Never seen this idea before. Dev is such an awesome community!!!