DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest: A Journey of Continuous Learning
Dhanush N
Dhanush N

Posted on • Originally published at Medium

Hacktoberfest: A Journey of Continuous Learning

Intro

I'm excited to be taking part in Hacktoberfest for the third time, just like I was the first time. I adore the chance to broaden my horizons professionally, meet individuals from all around the world, and contribute to open-source projects.

Highs and Lows

Working on several open-source projects was for me one of the pleasures of this year's Hacktoberfest. By examining other codebases and observing how other programmers addressed issues, I was able to gain a lot of knowledge. Additionally, I was able to contribute to initiatives about which I am quite passionate, and it was gratifying to see my efforts have an impact.

This year, finding the time to contribute to so many various initiatives was one of my problems. It was occasionally challenging for me to balance my employment with open-source efforts because I work a full-time job. However, I made it a point to dedicate some time to work on open-source projects.

Growth

The last three Hacktoberfests have taught me a lot. I've picked up new coding techniques, new technologies, and new methods for working with other engineers. In addition, I now know a lot more about who I am and what I am capable of.

Conclusion

For software programmers of all expertise levels or freshers getting into tech, Hacktoberfest is an excellent opportunity. It's a fantastic way to expand your knowledge, make a difference in open-source initiatives, and make new friends. I strongly recommend that you attend Hacktoberfest the following year if you're interested in developing or learning about open-source software.

For a list of the projects I worked on during this Hacktoberfest, visit my GitHub profile

Image description

I'm appreciative to the Hacktoberfest community for fostering an atmosphere that is so kind and encouraging. I also appreciate the patience and advice that the maintainers of the projects I contributed to have given me.

Connect with me via Twitter / Instagram / Github & subscribe to my Youtube Channel

Top comments (0)