DEV Community

Cover image for How to Answer the Question: "Am I Good Enough?"
Dor Shani
Dor Shani

Posted on

How to Answer the Question: "Am I Good Enough?"

For the past several months, I've been grappling with a question that probably haunts many of us: "Am I good enough?" Am I good enough as a programmer? A designer? How about managing my time? The list goes on.

The Short Answer

I honestly don't have a definite answer yet, but I'm working on it.

Being "good enough" at something you aspire to excel in is a double-edged sword. On one side, you are what you claim to be—in my case, a frontend developer. On the flip side, your work undergoes scrutiny. While some might applaud your design aesthetics and user experience, others may find it lacking or not aligned with their expectations.

The Complex Reality

Becoming more proficient in your craft is a blend of dedication, time, and passion. But let's face it, the hustle and bustle of today's corporate world make achieving these three elements challenging. For most of us, the only viable route to honing our skills is to utilize whatever free time we can muster, often squeezed between family commitments, day jobs, and life's other obligations. So, how do you find the time to improve?

A Hard Truth Worth Embracing

As a wise man once said:

"Ease is a greater threat to progress than hardship. Without commitment, you'll never start, but more importantly, without consistency, you'll never finish."

This quote serves as a reminder that challenges are actually catalysts for progress. What I've learned over the past year is to "fake it till you make it." I repeated affirmations like "This is fun," "I like this," and "I enjoy it" until they became a reality. It might sound cliché, but this exercise helped instill a genuine sense of passion and a drive to learn, create, and evolve—not just as a programmer or designer, but as a person.

The Journey is the Destination

In a developer's life, obstacles are a given. What we need to practice is not just the ability to clear these hurdles, but to relish the journey. Embrace the hardships, for they lead to real growth and progress. Master the art of enduring, and you'll find yourself not just meeting your goals but enjoying the process itself.

Top comments (0)