DEV Community

Dustin Runnells
Dustin Runnells

Posted on

Room Textures

Had a chance to spend a couple of more hours on this game idea. Since every room in this game is going to probably need it's own walls and floor, I am trying to figure out how to add textures to the room objects. My initial experiment had 5 separate boxes that I expected that I'd be able to just add an image to separately for the walls, floor and ceiling. Thinking more about this, it seems like it might be better to have each room be a single 3d cube/mesh and do something with UV materials/textures. Diving into this, I've created a "room" in blender, unwrapped it and exported a PNG that I'll be able to use to add some detail to the walls. I can edit the PNG and make each room unique. Eventually, I'll make a level editor that lets me add images to each wall and generates the combined PNG for me. Here is today's progress:

Image description

I need to figure out why making my rooms this way leaves the second story floor weird when two rooms are next to each other. This must have something to do with culling or the transparency option.

Top comments (0)