DEV Community

Dustin Runnells
Dustin Runnells

Posted on

Cannons and Jumpers

Added the Cannon and Jump abilities to the game!

Here is the cannon. Try to visualize a person climbing into a clown/circus cannon and being blasted through the wall to enter the room next door. The sprite will always aim for the top corner of the room they are currently in to avoid other sprites from slipping through:
Cannon

Jumping will be for getting over obstacles or holes in the floor:
Jumping

I'm starting to regret my method of creating holes in rooms with shaders. Each time I need to pass something through a hole, I need to override the normal game physics.. which causes a lot of headache to smooth out for a noob like me.

I'm far enough along where a project/scrum board will be useful. For most of my projects over the last couple of years I've been using Trello, it does a good job of keeping me on track:
Trello

Next up:

  • Blocker - Sprite will stand still and act as a wall causing other sprites that bump into it to reverse direction.
  • Main Menu - Probably something simple to launch a couple of levels
  • Backend level formatting - Right now I have a dictionary with each room's size and position and then I add doors and sprites to rooms in separate steps. Eventually I want this to be all one big JSON file that my level editor will generate.

Top comments (0)