DEV Community

Cover image for Day 431 : Different
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 431 : Different

liner notes:

  • Saturday : Honestly don't remember much from Saturday. haha I think I was still tired from the livestream from the day before. Pretty sure I finished up preparing for the radio show and for the show on Sunday. I probably also worked on my new side project. Also, during the show, I found out that Zumbi from Zion-I passed away. The recording of this week's show is at https://kNOwBETTERHIPHOP.com

Radio show episode image of a black and white photo of an artist named Zumbi who recently passed away looking directly into the camera with the words Aug 14th 2021 The Cost (RIP Zumbi)

  • Sunday : Did my Sunday show. Everything worked fine. I was able to demo my streaming server and talk about what went into getting it to work. Got to work more on my side project. I can now get the livestream into an html5 canvas and then add and remove text on top of the video. It's just a quick proof of concept, but I'll be able to build on top of that. After the show, I watched another episode of "Invincible". Show is getting really good.

  • Professional : Today I had a lot of meetings, pretty much back to back. I was able to work on a demo application. Found out that the way I was setting a variable wasn't really translating. I figured out a way around it and refactored my code to get it working in a different way. Also got to demo the code changes I made to be able to customize the styling of my Web Components to my manager. He likes the way it's going. Just need to finish up a couple of more Components and should be good to go.

  • Personal : Over the weekend, I was able to make some good progress on my side project. The media server I set up is still up and running. That's good. I was also able to get a quick demo going for a part of the dashboard where the incoming livesteam video and audio are put into a HTML5 canvas that I can then add or remove text and or images on top of the video. I want to be able to have a way to have scenes and transitions. I also played around with facial recognition on top of the videos, but for some reason, sometimes the face tracking boxes wouldn't line up with the face. I don't need it for this project, but for another one down the line. Also, I snuck in a little Japanese study.

A photo looking out into the ocean from a cove in Phuket, Thailand with mountains on the side and a large land mass coming out of the water.

So I've doing some research into a device that could possibly replace 2 devices I use to do the radio show. I thought that it wouldn't be able to connect to my audio play or phone, but I found an adapter in a video that could make it work. I ordered the adapter and tried it out. It worked! So I ordered the device and a couple of more adapters. Should come this week and if I can get everything working, I'll use it for this week's radio show. I've also been uploading/backing up slowly files from my laptop to the cloud. It's taking some time. I think I saw that Google Drive may be coming out with a Desktop app. My use that on my new laptop so I can back up certain files quicker. A lot of these files I most likely won't carry over to my new laptop, it's just in case I may need them. Going to eat dinner and watch another episode of "Invincible". I may start working on the dashboard for my new project and if time, study some Japanese.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)