DEV Community

Renzo Scriber
Renzo Scriber

Posted on

Kepler's Laws

I'm truly captivated by the elegance of Kepler's Laws within the realm of physics. The allure of geometric algebra and the enchanting tales of how star positions were meticulously charted have significantly shaped my appreciation for data science.


Image description

  1. Law of Ellipses: the orbit of every planet is an ellipse with the Sun at one of the two foci
  2. Law of Equal Areas Over Equal Times: a line joining a smaller mass and a larger mass sweeps out equal areas over equal times
  3. Law of Harmonics: the square of the orbital period TT of a planet is directly proportional to the cube of the semi-major axis, aa of its orbit **
    T2=4π2μa3T^2 = \frac{4\pi^2}{\mu}a^3

Check out this Pen I made! Here, I use a simplified model to adjust the speed of the planet's (blue circle) orbit based on the semi-major axis length aa , keeping in mind the spirit of Kepler's Third Law.

📝 Note: I used my AI and some previously made backbone code to come up with the CodePen code. I am WAY too inexperienced to come up with the simplified Kepler's Laws code on my own. My goal at the moment is to provide myself with intellectual stimulation for future projects. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel. My background is in science -- not computer science, so I feel justified in using the AI to help me come up with pretty CodePen projects 🩵

Top comments (0)