DEV Community

El Bruno
El Bruno

Posted on • Originally published at elbruno.com on

#reTerminal – Installing OpenCV, and using a USB WebCam 🀳

Hi !

Let's start with some posts using reTerminal with a very simple scenario:

Connect a Camera to the device and show the camera feed in reTerminal display

The output is something similar to this one.

reterminal with a camera displaying the camera feed

And letΒ΄s start with the base code to run this, based on my previous posts on OpenCV (see references)

The main prerequisite to run this code is to have OpenCV installed. And this is a tricky process in a Raspberry Pi. I used to install all the necessary libraries and apps, and then build OpenCV in my device (see references).

Today I follow these steps to make this happens.

1st I install Virtual Environments to I can work in isolated modes for my tests. Run these scripts

sudo pip3 install virtualenv
virtualenv -p python3 camLabs
source camLabs/bin/activate</pre>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Last line will activate my virtual environment.

Once I'm in the virtual environment, I can install OpenCV with the following command

sudo pip install opencv-contrib-python==4.1.0.25</pre>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And run the quick test to validate the installation.

In the process I learned a couple of lessons about installation with amazing errors like these ones

error installing opencv on reterminal 2

error installing opencv on reterminal

At the end, the simple command to install OpenCV makes the magic!

References

Continue reading #reTerminal – Installing OpenCV, and using a USB WebCam 🀳

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
shinprog profile image
ShinProg (Logan Tann)

For that length, I'd prefer having the whole post here instead of a link to your blog :(

Collapse
 
elbruno profile image
El Bruno

I managed to have the full content sync from my blog to here :D

Collapse
 
elbruno profile image
El Bruno

Thanks for the feedback ! I'm using the automated cross-post process. I'll try to ffigure out how to do the full cross-posting, instead of the header.