DEV Community

Michael Tharrington
Michael Tharrington

Posted on

Looking for an app where I can take a screenshot of a few different numbers and it'll sum them up!

I have an itch I need to scratch!

A three-toed sloth scratching itself and looking content while hanging on a tree branch

Anybody know of any apps out there that allow the user to take a picture of a handful of numbers and it'll add them together?

Ideally, I'd like the app to work on my MacBook Air and allow me to feed it screenshots. I'm not really looking for a mobile app right now, though I found this cool-looking option called PhotoCalc that's designed for iPhone.

Anywho, if you know of an app like this, please give me a shout — thanks!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Not sure how many time you do use it..

The free version would be this..

I was lazy and automate mine using Power platform automation.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Oooooo not a bad suggestion at all, Bala! Thanks for chiming in.

And cool post... sounds like a helpful tool. I'll be saving that one for later. 🙂

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh and I suppose I'd only use it occasionally. It's a very particular issue I'm trying to solve today.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

happy to connect with you to understand a bit more Michael. Would be happy to learn and brainstorm to solve the problem

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I really appreciate ya offering to help me out!

So, I actually shared the issue with members of the DEV Team and think I have a solution now thanks to their help. The solution doesn't involve taking pictures of numbers anymore, but it does involve spreadsheets. 😀

In any case, if I hit a wall here and still need assistance, I might hit you up if that's cool!

Collapse
 
mateusabelli profile image
Mateus Abelli

Oh you might be looking for an OCR tool to collect the numbers.

I've had a good experience using some popular Python libs to achieve this, it is not that hard to implement this stuff and it behaves like magic.

Unfortunately I don't know an app for that purpose, PhotoCalc looks awesome. I can't help but think in ways to develop this thing haha