DEV Community

Ethan Wayne
Ethan Wayne

Posted on

Sinatra Project

I just got my sinatra project done for Flatiron School. My project was called Cars Nation. I'm very interested in cars and have built a few in my life. I chose 3 very famous car collectors for my project.

To start the project I ran corneal to get the simple layout for my project. I ran into a few issues with corneal. For example I had to update everything to only run sqlite3 so there weren't multiple databases, I had to update Active Record, and had to change some code in my config.ru file so it worked properly. I also had to create a database yml file to get corneal to work.

After I sorted these issues I got to work. First I built out my controllers and models. There was a lot of issues within them and are still a few issues on the localhost that I need to fix. I then did .erb files to render everything. I should've done the rendering while I was doing the controllers so I didn't run into issues or as many issues. There are currently a few issues with params and "," and stuff like that.

Lastly I seeded my data in the end and used tux to make sure everything actually worked and had a id like it should. I added some pictures and some comments on the car collections.
Now I am working to finish up the little errors and preparing for my review.

Overall I ran into lots of issues but some help, google, and debugging helped me very much to fix these issues. A lot of my issues were very easy to read cause it specifically said where and on what line the issues were. I'm about done with project just changing some layout stuff and little errors. The project was difficult but it wasn't horrible because I know it's going to help me with ruby on rails. The project also taught me to look at key errors and helped me with debugging. On to the review!!

Top comments (0)