DEV Community

Ethan Wayne
Ethan Wayne

Posted on

RUBY ON RAILS PROJECT

I recently did my rails project and it had lots of ups and downs. The ups were I was able to understand the errors I was getting within my project because of my Sinatra project. I built my rails project to help company owners keep jobs in order. You can also view other companies and their jobs.

This project has been the most difficult but most rewarding to me. I started off by building out everything using model generators. Once I did that I started figuring out my associations. After building my associations and creating my schema and migrations I started building controllers. After my controllers I built my views, and added some css too.

I ran into multiple errors when creating this project, (10-20) seems like a good estimate. It was a struggle to figure them out. I ended up asking for help on lots of them and figuring out a lot on my own. A lot of my errors came from pluralization. I had all my pluralization backwards so had to change it. A lot of my errors were also pretty easy to figure out and readable. A lot of the project for me was adding stuff and deleting stuff to make the project look cleaner. I also didn't get to omniauth for this phase so I needed to watch some videos and get help from students. It was pretty neat to understand and use omniauth in a project.

Figuring out errors was one of the most rewarding things I've felt. The best feeling is when you get a project running and then adding additional stuff piece by piece to make it better and better. I plan on going back to this project and making it a serious application at some point too. Overall this project was the most difficult but the most fun and rewarding.

Top comments (0)