DEV Community

Cover image for How do you anxiety during Interviews?
Nero Adaware
Nero Adaware

Posted on

How do you anxiety during Interviews?

I always have to deal with anxiety when I go for an on-site interview and this makes me struggle to give the best impression of myself also it makes it difficult for me to think clearly to provide solutions to "simple" coding exercises that I'd solve on a normal day.
So I want to know how you deal with anxiety in this situation.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
tsimpson profile image
Travis Simpson

Really depends on the intensity of anxiety for myself. Some interviews, I jack up my caffeine intake (cup or two of Death Wish coffee usually works.) Others, I need to be more calm than stimulated, so some camomile tea is nice. I think generally everyone feels anxiety in interviews. They can be quite stressful and interviewers are typically aware of this. Another thing I find helps is the simple motto of "fake it til you make it." Put on a smile, practice some basic conversation on your drive over to the interview and really push to portray what you believe is confidence, reinforcing the behavior in your mind so it feels more natural and less stressed at the actual interview.

Collapse
 
finallynero profile image
Nero Adaware

Thanks
I'd try this.

Collapse
 
joshbrw profile image
Josh Brown

Plan, plan, plan! Make sure you know what you want from the role and what you've got to offer the company. Remember that an interview is a two way street - you should be evaluating whether or not you want to work at the company just as much as they are evaluating your suitability for the role. The company has a position they need filling just as much as you need/want a new role.

Be your genuine self - no interviewer wants to see a false facade. They are interviewing you to see your technical ability, but more importantly they want to see your personality and how you will fit into the team and company culture.

You may also get some benefit from looking into techniques such as Neuro-linguistic Programming. The anchoring technique especially can be very helpful for overcoming problems such as anxiety.