DEV Community

Victor Hugo Rolim
Victor Hugo Rolim

Posted on

Chart visualization data project help

Hey guys.

I need to create a project to visualize data in charts.
Basically the client is a volleyball trainer and is collecting data from a lot of games using a software called "Data Volley". This software is amazing, but it only shows numbers. So, he wants a easier way to visualize this and have insights to their players/teams.
I'm strugling here to think in a solution for this other than building a app from scratch. I mean, we already have a lot of tools to deal with data (power bi, metabase, ...) that probably will be cheaper for him and easier for me, best for both.
I tried using metabase to visualize the data but it has a lot of limitations, mainly because of the way that the data is provided. Take this example:

Image description

Cheat sheet:

Perfect action

  • Positive action ! Intermediary action
  • Negative action / Ignore the bar ones = Error action

I want to know what you guys think about that... I already know that using metabase it's probably not a option (I strugled a lot trying to make a few examples to see the feasibility) and I know nothing related to PowerBI.
Should I consider power bi for this?
Should I consider making a solution from scratch?
Do you guys have any other frameworks suggestions?

Top comments (0)