DEV Community

Fulton Browne
Fulton Browne

Posted on

whats your dev setup

As far as hardware, I have a dell latitude e7450 with a 6th gen i5, 16 gigs ram, and a 256gb m.2. My software is Ubuntu 19.10, vs code, intellij 2019.3 EAP, Android studio, and git kraken. whats your setup?

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
wrldwzrd89 profile image
Eric Ahnell

Using an iMac 27" from 2015, running macOS 10.15 "Catalina". Primary IDE is Eclipse 2019-09 with the Java SE 13 patch, and Java SE 13 as the runtime. Behind the scenes is the Terminal with zsh and oh-my-zsh providing shell access. Also leveraging Homebrew to keep Java up to date.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Great machine, have you tried intellij?

Collapse
 
wrldwzrd89 profile image
Eric Ahnell

I have, but cannot get away from Eclipse because of two things: an unused code finder plugin and my inability to understand how to use IntelliJ IDEA correctly.

Thread Thread
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Intellij has a unused code finder built in, I think it is by far the best IDE out there and worth learning, good proof of this is amazon, one of my friends works there, they all used eclipse and my friend used intellij and eventually got the entire company to switch over, because everyone loved it. my point is, intellij rocks

Thread Thread
 
wrldwzrd89 profile image
Eric Ahnell

I have heard good things about IntelliJ. I clearly need to learn how to use it, then! Thanks for the friendly nudge.

Thread Thread
 
syn profile image
norman

What about VSC?

Thread Thread
 
wrldwzrd89 profile image
Eric Ahnell

VSC is great too, but I've never tried using it for Java before. Any tips you have on that front are welcome!

Collapse
 
ozgrozer profile image
Ozgur

As the computer I use 2017 Macbook Pro 15", Catalina v10.15.1, 2.8 GHz Intel i7, 16 GB memory.

Chrome for browsing and developer tools.

Sublime Text for text editing with 30+ plugins and bunch of customized snippets and macros.

Terminal.app with zsh, oh-my-zsh, zsh-autosuggestions and a lot of customized functions. For instance I type "sshd" or "sshv" and it automatically connects to the ssh servers that I declared.

Tower for Git. I like GUI based Git apps because it's easier adding files, committing and pushing. Also you can always see all the branches, history, stashes etc.

Navicate Premium for database stuff. You can almost connect all type of databases such as MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle, MongoDB. Also you can easily connect to the databases on the AWS, Google Cloud, MongoDB Atlas etc. And it has a data synchronization feature that I like that you can sync your remote and local databases.

Homebrew for installing and managing apps. Just run "brew install node" to install Node.js.

Bitbar for running scripts. I can run those scripts from terminal but sometimes it's much more easier to run them with just one click. It's even not a click. On Bitbar's menu icon with trackpad with three fingers 😅 So for example I can access to any note in Notes.app; or I can change my local IP, adding/removing proxies all over Bitbar.

I use Docker for containerizing apps. And started to learn "docker-compose".

Numi for calculations. I was even going to make something similar. github.com/ozgrozer/trevor

PixelSnap for measuring things on screen in any app. I think every frontend developer and designer need this.

ColorSnapper for picking colors in any app. This is needed as PixelSnap.

SnippetsLab for code snippets. I like the default-syntax-for-each-folder feature very much. So far I have 750 snippets.

Magnet for window management. So for example you can position Sublime to the left of the screen and Chrome to the right to work together.

I also run scripts over Siri over iPhone. So when I say "Hey Siri, put my Mac to sleep", Siri runs a script with Shortcuts app and put my Mac to sleep. Here's how you can run any script on your computer with your iPhone or iPad over Siri. twitter.com/ozgrozer/status/114457...

Collapse
 
rebeccaskinner profile image
Rebecca Skinner

My main dev machine is a system76 adder ws with an i9 and 32gb of ram running pop_os 19.10 (with cinnamon as the DE). My secondary more portable machine is a 2017 13” MacBook Pro with an i7 and 16 gb of ram, currently sill on Mojave.

On both machines I use a kinesis advantage 2, Logitech trackball, and a single lg 27” 4K hdr display.

Most of my work is done in emacs, with eshell as my main shell, with bash as a backup (although I’m currently testing libvterm and I’m very happy with it and likely to make the switch). I use nix for most dev related package management.

Collapse
 
coreyoconnor profile image
Corey O'Connor

That's quality stuff! Got a system76 darter recently myself. Did you put NixOS on your system76?

Collapse
 
rebeccaskinner profile image
Rebecca Skinner

I had originally planned to use nixos, but I decided to check out pop_os first, since it shipped with the laptop, just to see what System76 had done with it and I was so impressed with that level of polish that I’ve stuck with it for now. I’m still using nix for most of the dev work I’m doing, so I might end up switching eventually but for the moment I’m pretty happy with the hybrid setup I have.

Collapse
 
eboye profile image
eboye

I'm on a custom build machine:

Intel i5 4690k
Gigabyte Z97-UD3H
32GB of RAM (DDR3) Kingstone HyperX
250GB Samsung Evo SSD + 4X1TB of HDDs
One ultra wide LG monitor and one FullHD HP monitor

Dual boot Manjaro with Gnome and MacOS Mojave (hackintosh)

phpStorm
Android Studio
Tower (on MacOS)
Git Kraken (on Manjaro)

zsh with oh-my-zsh on both
iTerm2 and Homebrew on MacOS for all kind of stuff :)

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

11-inch Macbook Air circa, 2013. The processor is 1.3 GHz (idk if that's good anymore) and I'm currently running Mojave. I use Atom for coding and beyond git and whatever gems or dependencies I need for a project, have not installed much else.

Older machine, but it works for me. I like how small/light it is, but I do miss having more screen real estate.

Collapse
 
coreyoconnor profile image
Corey O'Connor

The older Macbooks are great!

Have you tried a tiling window manager? (github.com/ianyh/Amethyst) That helped me quickly make use of screen real estate :)

A bit of a usability cliff to get started tho...

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I'll take a look. I do put some windows side by side, depending on what I am doing.

Collapse
 
syn profile image
norman

I don't remember my specs other than it having:
Ryzen 5
AsRock Taichi
Radeon RX 570
These are the programs I use:
Visual Studio Code for my IDE
DevHub for notifications
GitKraken for my client. I prefer Git UIs because it's simpler for me.

Collapse
 
lubekpl profile image
Chris L • Edited

MacBook Pro (2015) w/ Mojave running chunkwm but I sometimes switch it over for a Lenovo IdeaPad 510S-13ISK w/ i3 on Ubuntu (thinking of switching to manjaro lately).

I don't go anywhere nowadays without my Ultimate Hacking Keyb and my trusty Mx ergo. The newest addition to the setup are Pamu Slide earbuds that I sometimes switch for isk MDH8500.

As for software I use Vim with some plugins that make life a tad easier, iTerm or alacritty. Almost no gui apps. Firefox for browsing w/ vimium and a shit ton of adblockers.

Collapse
 
charlesvu profile image
Charles Vu

Note I work remotely

Hardware:

  • Intel i7 8700k boosted to 5.0Ghz all cores
  • Asus Strix Z270 mATX
  • 32GB of DDR4 at 2400Mhz
  • 250GB of SSD for the OS
  • One Dell U3818DW (Ultrawide, 3840 x 1600 @ 60Hz)
  • Logitech Z-4550
  • Ikea table (which need to be replaced)
  • Refurb HumanScale Freedom headset
  • Sennheiser Game One for my headset.

Software:

  • Hackintosh on Mojave
  • Xcode + VSCode
  • Zsh + oh my zsh
  • GitHub desktop
  • Pixelmator for simple image modifications
  • divvy for windows management
  • Airmail
Collapse
 
cescquintero profile image
Francisco Quintero 🇨🇴 • Edited

Lenovo Thinkpad L440, i7 8cores, 8GB RAM.

Dual booted Windows 8.1 and Linux Mint 19.2, Bash with some personal configs, Sublime Text 3, I do Git via terminal.

Almost everything I worked is under a Vagrant box so machine is as clean as possible.

Personal browser: Firefox Quantum. Work browser: Chrome

Collapse
 
jcadima profile image
Juan J Cadima

Lenovo yoga 730, i7, 16GB Ram, 512GB SSD with win10, PHPStorm
, looking to go back to linux but currently have an issue with cpu temperature, wondering if Ubuntu 19.10 solves those issues with the new cpu fixes and kernel

Collapse
 
todorowww profile image
Slobodan Todorov • Edited

HW: Acer Inspire F 15 (i5-7200U), Nvidia GTX950m (4Gb), 12Gb of RAM, 128Gb M.2 and 1Tb HDD.

SW: Linux Mint 18.3 KDE edition, phpStorm, PyCharm, bash with liquidprompt.

Code runs on VirtualBox/Vagrant with various boxes (Homestead, Bento, etc.)

Collapse
 
codebrotha profile image
Tineyi Takawira • Edited

Machine:

Microsoft Surface Book 2 15"
(Intel i7 Quadcore, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GTX1060)

OS:

Windows 10
Running Ubuntu 18.04 via Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL)

Editor:

VS Code (running in WSL-Remote, with a bunch of extensions.)

Terminal:

Hyper

Browser:

Opera

Other tools:

  • Docker (almost all my projects are in a Docker container now.)
  • Chocolatey (Package manager for Windows)
  • Postman (for testing API calls)
  • Shopify Themekit
  • Adobe CC Suite
  • Bash aliases (So many Bash aliases! I couldn't live without my Bash aliases!)

Mostly code in:

  • Ruby (on Rails)
  • Python
  • JavaScript
  • Liquid
  • HTML/CSS
Collapse
 
heemoe profile image
Hee Z

I don't even have a SSD in my laptop, and still using 1377*768 resolution.

Collapse
 
mehdico profile image
Mehdi Mousavi

Intel Core i3 6100
MSI z270 carbon
16 GB DDR4 2800
128 GB Samsung 850 SSD + 1 TB HDD
Dell 22 inch
MacOS Catalina

VS Code
PhpStorm
Android Studio
xCode
AppCode

iTerm2
GitKraken
MAMP

Collapse
 
ehsan profile image
Ehsan Azizi

Custom-built PC from 2015 with Intel i5 4590, 8GB Ram, 128GB SSD for Window and 1 TB HDD, and the software I use mostly VS Code with tons of extensions