DEV Community

Cover image for Super Simple execution tracking for Javascript and Node.js
Gabriele Formenti
Gabriele Formenti

Posted on

Super Simple execution tracking for Javascript and Node.js

Sometimes you need to measure time execution of a script or part of it, simple answer could be call the Date() function many times and compute elapsed time.

Recently I found out a better method that works for javascript and Node.js too, the console.time.

This function comes from Web API and have a great support:

Alt Text

Using it is very simple:

//start timer with name "My Timer Name"
console.time("My Timer Name");

alert("Click to continue");
//log time without sotp the timer
console.timeLog("My Timer Name");
//My Timer Name: 1898.589111328125ms

alert("Click to continue again...");
//log time and stop timer
console.timeEnd("My Timer Name");
//My Timer Name: 2641.26123046875ms

For more information you can read official docs on MDN

Cover Image: Ansgar Koreng

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
chloeveux profile image
chloeveux

Salut, Gabriele! C'est une méthode api intéressante. Et c'est vanille js. Dans d'autres langues, je préfère utiliser le gestionnaire de contexte.

Pourrais-tu m'aider s'il te plaît. J'ai besoin d'un examen de mon #showdev sur dev.to. Merci)