DEV Community

Cover image for Journey of completing Oracle Java Certification OCA 1Z0-808 exam
Geethanjali
Geethanjali

Posted on

Journey of completing Oracle Java Certification OCA 1Z0-808 exam

I started preparing by reading Oracle Certified Associate Java SE 8 Programmer text book.

I read couple of times and started taking mock exams on Enthuware and exam topics. For questions I couldn't answer, I typed each one into my IDE or a text editor.

I was able to understand each concept very well thanks to Sean Kennedy's Let's Get Certified YouTube channel, where he provides excellent visual explanations.

Challenges that I faced:

  • Fear of failing the exam.

  • Tricking the simple question to test the foundation concepts.

  • cost of the exam.

Advice for individuals preparing to take the exam:

  • Set a time frame.

  • Buy the voucher and schedule the exam date.

  • Read the book once or twice.

  • Start giving mock question papers using Enthuware, exam topics [Each day up to 25 questions, solve the problems either using console or IDE]

  • Practice makes us behave like a compiler so type the mock questions and understand the flow.

  • Never memorize the concepts.

Below are the books and mock exams I used for my preparation:

All the best for your exam! Go for it :)

Image description

Top comments (0)