DEV Community

Cover image for Help! My Client Underpaid Me for 12 Websites – What Are My Options?
gokulhans
gokulhans

Posted on

Help! My Client Underpaid Me for 12 Websites – What Are My Options?

Dear fellow developers and freelancers,

I come to you today with a heavy heart and a sense of injustice. I recently completed a freelance task: designing and developing 12 websites for a client. We agreed upon a fair payment for my hard work and dedication, but when it came time to settle the bill, my client underpaid me significantly. It feels like a punch in the gut, a betrayal of trust, and a stark reminder of the challenges we face in the freelancing world. I am reaching out to you all, not only to share my story but also to seek your guidance, support, and empathy.

Iam used chatgpt to generate some part of this , not in a good mood to write this , very sorry :) Not a good writer , ignore errs pls..

Its been 3 months i started working with this client and we made a deal of 4000 Indian Rs per wordpress website. The client him self working as a digital marketing agency.So he told me that he taking other works from same client so he could only pay me after completling every work from his client. I thought its fair and i agree with it. We started well and he gave me 4 works and i completed it fast and waited for 2 more weak till he pay me. Then he gave me 10000 rs (price for 2 and 1/2 work) , Then i got trust on this guy as he paid me as per his words. So i take more 8 work and completed it fast that i needed some urgent money requirement. After two weak i started to asking for money. He said wait some more days and i did. Then he made so many excuses and never give me money , its been 1 and half months now , From past three days he dont even taking my call or replying to my messages. Iam exhausted Now. Please my fellow developers give me some advice.

I dont have any contract with him , As freelancer, i often put my trust in my clients,Now the only thing i have is the chat between us.

He gave me his cpanel username and password , i have still access to it, can i do anything like blocking or deleting website from it. iam sure he have a backup, what can i do now, iam really frustrated :)

In sharing my story, I hope to find solace in the collective wisdom of our community. I am not alone in this struggle, and I know many of you have faced similar challenges. How did you cope? What steps did you take to address the situation? Your experiences and advice are invaluable to me and to others who might find themselves in a similar predicament.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story and share in my frustration. Your understanding and support mean the world to me. Let's turn this negative experience into a catalyst for positive change within our community. Together, we can ensure that every freelancer is treated with the fairness and respect they deserve.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
calliko profile image
Токмаков Александр

Just always pay in advance. Let this be a lesson to you.