DEV Community

Vicente G. Reyes
Vicente G. Reyes

Posted on • Updated on

Python Wrap Up - August 2019

Hi! I'm Vicente, your friendly Filipino mod for the #python tag. Today is another episode of the Top Python Posts of the month!

At the end of each month, I'll be curating the top #python posts based on traffic & engagement.

1.) 10 Great Programming Projects to Improve Your Resume and Learn to Program

One of the common questions we get when it comes to learning how to program, is: “What are some good ideas for projects to build?”

2.) I Built a Bot to Try and Get Money Back From My Internet Provider

In my contract with my ISP, they gave me a range of speeds to expect but also a speed that was the guaranteed minimum. If they aren't able to keep above this minimum, I'm eligible for a discount a few times per year.

3.) I am going to automate you with Python | Reverse Python Lab

In this lab, I am going to automate you with Python so you will start to fly end of this experiment.

4.) List of resources for junior developers

Starting on programming can be very exciting but at the same time scary. A lot of times I've come across articles and people highlighting the importance of having a mentor to help get your foot in the door in the industry.

5.) Web Scraping 101 in Python

In this post, which can be read as a follow up to our ultimate web scraping guide, we will cover almost all the tools Python offers you to web scrape. We will go from the more basic to the most advanced one and will cover the pros and cons of each. Of course, we won't be able to cover all aspect of every tool we discuss, but this post should be enough to have a good idea of which tools does what, and when to use which.

That wraps up the top #python posts for this month. If you'd like to read more, check out #python or follow The Python Dev on Twitter!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
sobolevn profile image
Nikita Sobolev

I am going to promote a tutorial about django and mypy: dev.to/wemake-services/typecheckin...

TypedDjango allows to typecheck settings, views, forms, models, and querysets. Literally everything in django-land! This is a long-awaited feature!

django types

Check it out.

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Great list!