DEV Community

Wumi4
Wumi4

Posted on

Introducing Subreply CSS - A beautiful classless CSS style

Recently, I came across this website called Subreply, which is an English-only forum with a clean and simplistic design.

When I first saw it, I immediately fall in love with its design: Simple, yet modern and beautiful. I love it so much that I decided to rip the CSS from the website and turn it into a classless CSS style.

And after about 2 days of active working, I introduce to you, Subreply CSS!

My blog with Subreply CSS applied

Subreply CSS is a classless CSS style that is designed to be modern, beautiful, and simple, just like where it came from.

Features include:

  • Lightweight - Only weights 4 kB! 1
  • Mobile responsive and image responsive
  • Automatic dark/light theme (based on OS preferences)
  • Custom emojis before mailto:, sms:, and tel: links
  • Custom blockquotes and code blocks 2
  • Beautiful font (Route 159)
  • Fixing missing features from the original Subreply, such as radios and checkboxes

Subreply CSS is suitable for both personal blogs and simple websites!

Wow! That's exciting! Where can I know more about it?

You can go to the Github repo, which contains further information about the project.

I'm still skeptical, I want to try it first

You can try this demo 3 or just playing around with my website (yes, it uses Subreply CSS).

Downsides

Even though it has a lot of good points, Subreply CSS also has some downsides:

  • All the fonts are currently hosted on Catbox, a file hosting service that I am relying on. This means that if Catbox goes down, all the fonts will be rendered unusable. The best solution for this is to host fonts locally, and I am planning on writing a (short) blog post just for that, so stay tuned!

Questions? Feedback?

If you have any questions or feedback, feel free to email me!


  1. For both original and minified version 

  2. The blockquotes are stolen from here and the code blocks are stolen from here 

  3. Note that the demo version can be a bit outdated. 

Top comments (0)