DEV Community

Holiviel Valdez
Holiviel Valdez

Posted on

What was your worst experience with a programming language?

My worst experience with a programming language was C the reason why C was like a nightmare for me was that is not an easy language not for beginners back in that time my first experience with a language was Python and jump to something of the level of C for a beginner is not a friendly choice.

When we code we do analogies about the knowledge we have about other languages so when we code in a new language we thought in our mind oh that's the way they manage this because is better for that and in the day of the journey we learn new things with that experience, but we know C doesn't have the abstraction of the modern programming languages because the kind of task the language manage like low-level stuff and OS requirements in the past I didn't know this so was hard for me coding in that language.

What was your worst experience with a programming language? leave your comments below.

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
forfer profile image
ForFer

Scala. Had to do a college assignment, and decided to do it in Scala in order to learn it (options were Scala, and Python, and I already knew some of the later), and it was a huge mistake, not because I didn't like it, but because I quite didn't fully grasp how it worked, so it took me a lot of time to fix stupid mistakes, that hindered my progress, which was a luxury I couldn't afford :(

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

Good one ... I've never used Scala, but I worked with a guy who was 'forced' to use it at one of his previous employers, and he said that not only Scala sucked but all of his colleagues there who used it sucked as well, it seemed to promote an uber-nerdy culture of "how can we do this in the most arcane and complicated way" - their usage of Scala meant that they were solving the most trivial and braindead problems in the most complex way possible. As said I haven't used it myself but I saw some Scala syntax (type definitions) and quickly decided that this wasn't for me ...

Collapse
 
forfer profile image
ForFer

I don't necessarily think that Scala sucks, because it's actually very powerful and, as far as I know, used in some computationally heavy tasks, but my problem was that every learning source assumed I had far more knowledge about the language and about functional programming, which was not my case... But it's a future project to really learn, just to not be beaten by a programming language!

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

I have no hands on experience with Scala, my post was mainly based on the ex-colleague's experiences. I do believe however that it's one of the more complex programming languages, the type system is complicated and very arcane. It's also not a pure FP language, it's an OO/FP hybrid, two paradigms in one, that's probably not making it any easier. Some bigger companies love it though, apparently it isn't the worst choice if you want a 'corporate' job.

Collapse
 
jfrankcarr profile image
Frank Carr

Gupta SQL Windows. In case you don't know, it's a rather obscure desktop programming language from the 90's, intended to compete with tools like VB6, Powerbuilder and the like. To code in it you have to use its clunky, unfriendly, IDE. All the code is stored in an unsearchable binary format so you can't easily load it into a regular text editor. The syntax is a weird hybrid of BASIC, Pascal and SQL. It was truly awful to deal with, much worse than any legacy VB6 code I've encountered.

Collapse
 
_diddlysquat profile image
Jonas Heitzer

Java. It was the first thing they tried to hammer in our brains in university.
It is/was slow and ugly and made me doubt my intelligence more than once.

Being told which tools o use is just a stupid concept in my opinion.

Collapse
 
scalardimension profile image
Scalar Waves

Was Java your first language?

Collapse
 
_diddlysquat profile image
Jonas Heitzer

I had played around with PHP for a few years and had a basic understanding of C.

Collapse
 
unicorndough profile image
Kyara.

Right now its javascript for me. I'm trying to learn it and it just seems so so hard compared to html and css (which I know are totally different) but finding things to program without going through endless hours of videos and blogs is getting to me sometimes hahah. I hope it gets better soon when I get that "aha!" Moment.

Collapse
 
alephnaught2tog profile image
Max Cerrina

My advice? Push towards event listeners if you aren't there yet. Even if they seem way beyond you or too hard. It is like magic when you are able to directly get things to happen live when you interact with them.

Collapse
 
nektro profile image
Meghan (she/her)

Python has a special place in my heart for languages I don't like. The amount of ti
mes I've seen python code and thought to myself this should not even compile properly, let alone run is almost countless. And the side effects, argh. The whole language is just chock full of bad design decisions. And to boot, it doesn't even look nice. It's one saving grace, is that it forces a style guide, so I'm sure that helps readability. But even that is thrown out the window because py2 and py3 aren't even compatible enough to be the same language.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Ahaha we should probably have a discussion about this because although there are bad decisions in there it has served me well for 15 years... I feel like some issues, of languages in general, are derived from trying to fit a language in our own mindset instead of the other way around.

Well, I'm about to head to the airport so it might take a bit for me to answer and I have no idea on which time zone you are but if you care to make a list I might be able to shed some light or even agree with you on this or that issue. I'll answer eventually 🤣

Collapse
 
scalardimension profile image
Scalar Waves • Edited

I never understood why Scala was invented. It is a unnecessary language which produce automatically unreadable code. I tried, oh yes I tried, but in the end I thought its better to go back and use the real stuff. Just to try to make code smaller is no solution. If it becomes unreadable, then the scope of the language is lost.