DEV Community

Cover image for TERNAry review 1
Irene
Irene

Posted on

TERNAry review 1

Scrimba Course: Learn JavaScript with Per Harald Borgen

Hello, my lovely alTERNAtive readers🌟
Today I`m going to talk about my experience with the course "Learn JavaScript" by Scrimba platform. This article would be useful for students, who are looking for honest feedback on programming courses to start thir own careers or to advise their friends🐱‍👤 Here I share my expirience and imressions with you by making a short summary of the entire course. Firstly:

General Information

This course containes 207 lessons and lasts 10 hours 23 min, to be precise. Course level: Beginner.The course contains 207 interactive screencasts spread across 8 modules. Teacher: Per Harald Borgen. This course is free, but for some features (I will give details later) you will need to buy PRO subscription. This course is just a one module in The Frontend Developer Career Path on Scrimba.

Course promises to familiarize us with:

1.const & let
2.numbers
3.booleans
4.objects
5.arrays
6.functions
7.methods
8.for loops
9.logical operators
10.mathematical operators
11.JSON
12.Math object
13.DOM manpulation
14.getElementById()
15.querySelector()
16.addEventListener()
17.innerText
18.textContent
19.innerHTML
20.conditional statements
21.truthy vs falsy values
22.template strings
23.localStorage
24.debugging with Google

Puff😂 that`s it)

Modules

Module 1: type of module - theoretical. Here we are building a passenger counter app in cooperation with a teacher. Here students obtain such new concepts as script tag, variables, numbers, strings, console.log(), functions, the DOM, getElementById(), innerText, textContent.
Module 2: type of module - practical. In this module students will work on their own, receiving tasks to be solved. At the end of the module, we are offered to write our own personal project. BUT it was at this stage that I learned about PRO membership. To get access to the explanations, to the Figma file, students need to pay for a 6-month subscription. I was interested in portfolio replenishing with projects, so I bought this subscription. It cost me 1860 Ukrainian HRN(~50$).
Result of my first Solo Project
Passenger Counter Application
Module 3: type of module - theoretical. Here we learn about Local Dev Environment: text editor and version control.
Module 4: type of module - theoretical. Here we build our first JS game - simple version of Blackjack. Things that were learned in this section: array, objects, booleans, if else statement, comparison operators, logical operators, for loops, the Math object, return statement.
Module 5: type of module - practical. Here we are solving JS challenges + Solo project(Password Generator)
Result of my Solo Project
Password Generator Application
Module 6: type of module - theoretical. This section was quite entertaining even for my boyfriend, who is working as a Middle Front-End Engineer. Here we created code for a new Chrome extension. It was not hard at all, but as I see even experinced programmers do not know how to start and develop such projects. Content: const, addEventListener(), innerHTML, input.value, function parameters, template strings, localStorage, the JSON object, objects in arrays.
Project result
Chrome extension
Module 7: type of module - practical. It`s the third part of practical tasks + Solo Project(Unit Converter). We made some tasks to repeat the material covered. And traditionally, here is my version of this project.
Result of my Solo Project

Unit Converter Application
Module 8: type of module - mixed. This module is unique, because we go through the theretical material first and at the end of the section we execute a Solo project. The essence of this part is to teach students to create mobile apps. We got acquainted with the concept of the database and tried working with Firebase as a new tool. New skills: import, Firebase: initializeApp, Firebase: getDatabase, Firebase: reference, Firebase: push, Firebase: onValue, Firebase: snapshot, IDs, Firebase: remove, createElement, user-select.
Result of my Solo Project

Application to share love letters

Conclusion:

About my programming journey. Personally, I've had countless amount of attempts to start programming learning. I permanently blamed myself for not acting, because I had put off my development for more than a year. In the past, during my training, my emotional state was reduced to boredom and irritation every time. BUT, such courses as this one destroy all my attitudes and stereotypes about learning. I felt really inspired and excited, I was so self-satisfied with my small steps to success. Theoretical videos are really short and concise. It is easier to focus on such videos and not be distracted. Zoomers are happy👾

In the course description we are promised to be shown the interactive programming course with a lot of challanges. That is true. Your typical course routine would look like this: to open a new video -> to receive some theoretical information -> to do a small task immediately to consolidate the material. This course is really interactive and gives opportunity to solve a lot of puzzles.

About Solo projects. Another good thing with this course is that you will build projects from the very start. Solo projects are real-world projects that are tailored to your skill level as you progress through the course. These projects are suitable for beginners who want to apply their knowledge immediately in practice. But, as I said before, Solo Projects on Scrimba are only accessible for Pro Members.

The information on the course is presented in a way that is accessible to beginners, and it was easy for me to understand fresh and new concepts. I understood most of the theory the first time I heard it (note: I'm not exactly a beginner in programming).
In addition, the course includes recaps at the end of each module to refresh a memory. Overall, refreshing information after learning something new is a crucial step in the learning process. It improves retention, comprehension, and application of knowledge, while also helping to identify and rectify any gaps or errors in understanding.

The information on the course itself is relevant, modern, and concise.

My overall opinion: as I highlighted before this course is only a part of The Frontend Developer Career Path course, it is absolutely easy and introductory. You just literally watch short videos and immediately try to write something with your own hands. I think this format is in contrast to those hardcore 10-hour lectures on YouTube, that remain forever in tabs, postponed for better times. Such a boring learning is definitely not my option, so I praise the gradualness and practical form of this course. This course is for those who are not in a hurry and are not trying to learn the whole JS in a month, for beginners who are just starting their career and for those who don't mind paying for advanced features. Also this part of the course gives an opportunity to familiarize yourself specifically with JavaScript as a programming language.

Recommendation:

isScrimbaCourse ? smooth, slow and easy start in programming : other practical, interactive course with real-world projects

Top comments (0)