DEV Community

Christina Pacheco
Christina Pacheco

Posted on

πŸš€ First Week of Computer Programming Courses: What I’ve Learned! πŸš€

Image description

Diving into the world of programming has been interesting so far, and my first week was packed with tons of things I did not know and hands-on experiences. Here’s a glimpse of what I’ve learned so far:

🌐 Building a Responsive Website: I created a responsive website using HTML, showcasing the city I live in. I haven't used HTML since MySpace! lol

πŸ€” Who Owns the Internet? I was today years old to know that no single entity, including the government, owns the internet. It's a global network of networks, governed by protocols and standards.

πŸ”Œ Network Components & Connections: I learned the basics of network infrastructure, understanding end devices, intermediate devices, and network media. This foundational knowledge is key for me to grasp how data travels across the internet.

πŸ“Ά The true definition of "Bandwidth": I finally understand what bandwidth really means – it's not about a person's capacity lol, but the rate at which data is transmitted over a network connection.

πŸ’» Bits and Bytes: Did you know the word "computer" has 64 bits? Eight bits make a byte, so 64 bits equal 8 bytes. Simple, but yet a fundamental concept in computing that I now know :)

πŸš€ Supercomputers Are Real: Yes, they do exist! The US has the most supercomputers in the world with 161, including the world's fastest supercomputer, Frontier.

I am excited for the weeks ahead and all the new knowledge and skills to come! Tune in next week for more learnings.

If you are just starting your coding journey comment below the cool and interesting things you are learning!

Top comments (0)