DEV Community

Christina Pacheco
Christina Pacheco

Posted on

Five things I have learned being a jobless 27 year old

It has been 13 days, 298 hours and 17,930 minutes of being fun-employed. Never did I think at 27 years old, at the peak of my career, I would be jobless. Life, man. It holds no mercy.

Furthermore, on my job seeking journey I have learned a couple of things:

  1. Be sure your LinkedIn is updated!

  2. Pick a company that aligns with your values and morals.

  3. Do NOT let imposter syndrome invade!!

  4. Werk the room! Do not be afraid to leverage your network

  5. Be yourself. simple.

If you have recently experienced a layoff or rescinded offer, take care of your mental first, keep going and learn more.

Check back for next weeks post!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
mikeyglitz profile image
mikeyGlitz

did I think at 27 years old, at the peak of my career, I would be jobless.

You're not giving yourself enough credit. I didn't really feel like I was getting into my stride until I entered into my 30's. Things are looking up for you. You've got time!

Collapse
 
itschristinamba profile image
Christina Pacheco

Thank you 🥺.

Collapse
 
otumianempire profile image
Michael Otu

✌️

Collapse
 
omrisama profile image
Omri Gabay

Who said that 27 is the peak of your career? Why would you even think that?

Collapse
 
itschristinamba profile image
Christina Pacheco

Honestly, that’s what it felt like at the time. I’m hoping for something bigger and better!

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Great tips these are hard times with viruses, wars and recessions all over the place.

Collapse
 
itschristinamba profile image
Christina Pacheco

Right Andrew!! We certainly have to keep our spirits high here.

Collapse
 
ajayts07 profile image
ajayts07

Yes, you're right though!

Thank you for sharing.

Collapse
 
itschristinamba profile image
Christina Pacheco

Thank you for reading!