DEV Community

Cover image for NewKidOnTheBlock
DTechWriter
DTechWriter

Posted on • Updated on

NewKidOnTheBlock

I feel a whole new vibe coursing through my veins as I write this blog article. Of course, being a blockchain writer for several months now, this is not my first rodeo.

However, I'm here with a different kind of vibe entirely. The freedom to write freely without the air of so much seriousness: few things can compare to that.

Anyways, today is my first day on this journey, one I hope I will have the discipline to be consistent with it.

What journey? Of course, I knew you'd ask that.

Well, I'm starting a software engineering course with Alx's fully funded program on the 15th of August. Yeee!!! Well, my head wants to say, "don't get too excited. This is like the umpteenth time you're starting a programming course..." But hey! A man's got to keep trying.

This time, though, I'd like to do all within my power to succeed first in learning and then become a great programmer.

As a writer, though, I intend to first start as a technical writer and work my way into becoming a full-time programmer. In all my three years of experience as a content writer, I discovered my best work all involved understanding and then simplifying content for an audience. I thus look forward to doing just that in the software development/engineering field as well.

I'll restart my journey in software development tomorrow by starting out any front-end project on which I can lay my hand. Having prerequisite and partial knowledge of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Python, and, of course, stack overflow and Google will surely go a long way.

I hope to document my progress weekly to help me remain consistent. All the best to me!

Top comments (0)