DEV Community

Cover image for First and (Maybe) Last Post of 2022...
Jenn Herrarte
Jenn Herrarte

Posted on

First and (Maybe) Last Post of 2022...

Definitely more posts to come in 2023, but first, a little about me...

About Me

Hello! My name is Jenn and I'm a software developer at a creative agency in Los Angeles. Before becoming a developer, I worked in the entertainment industry (showbiz, baby 🎥). Although it was a fun career choice for a while (Ok, I did meet Tom Cruise, twice), I knew it wasn't what I wanted to do long term. I always had an interest in tech and software development (especially when I read this) so I took a leap of faith and enrolled in a coding bootcamp, which brings me to where I am today! A dev with a little bit of imposter syndrome.

Why I'm starting this blog

I think many career switchers and bootcamp grads feel overwhelmed by the amount you have to learn, like REALLY FAST.

...What's that thing people say about learning development? It's like drinking out of a firehouse? Yeah, that's it...

There are concepts and technologies that I still don't fully have a grasp on (kubernetes anyone??). Although I don't think the internet needs another explanation on how REST APIs work, I've decided to start this blog anyway as a way to teach myself, and hopefully you, concepts by writing about them. I would appreciate any feedback from anyone who reads my posts, especially if there's an error or gap in my explanations.

That's all for now folks. 👋

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
seangwright profile image
Sean G. Wright

You made a good choice (in my opinion) joining a creative agency. You'll learn lots of different technologies, likely develop good habits with time logging, estimates, and creating workable solutions, quickly.

I started my development career in the creative/agency world and I'm still in it, 10 years later!

DEV.to is a great place to share what you learn and learn from others. It's a good community!

Collapse
 
jennherrarte profile image
Jenn Herrarte

Absolutely agree with you, working at a creative agency has been a bootcamp in itself! Very grateful for the experience. I'm definitely looking forward to sharing more content on here. Thanks Sean!