DEV Community

Jonathan Flower
Jonathan Flower

Posted on • Originally published at blog.jonathanflower.com on

Personalize Your AI Experience: Reasons to Create a Private GPT

Do you struggle to keep track of your favorite prompts? Despite saving them in my note-taking app, Bear, retrieving the right prompt when I need it and adding my personal information and documents remains a hassle. Surely, there must be a better way!

One of my favorite prompts is one I use to help draft cover letters.

My Cover Letter Process:

  • Search my chat history for an existing chat about cover letters, often I don’t find one quick enough and abandon the search.
  • Switch to searching Bear for the right prompt
  • Copy paste the prompt
  • Upload my CV
  • Wait a few seconds (at this point I often get distracted, 10 minutes later I remember I was supposed to be working on my cover letter. Sound familiar?)
  • Paste in the job description
  • Copy Paste the draft cover letter, revise, send it over.

Will this still saved me time and improved the quality of my cover letters, it is clunky.

Private GPT

That’s when I stumbled upon the game-changing concept of Private GPTs. How have I missed this? I can create a dedicated AI assistant that crafts personalized cover letters with a single prompt. No more distractions—just efficiency.:

Image description

How To Create a GPT

Creating a GPT | OpenAI Help Center

How to make it private:

  • when you click Create, make sure to select Only me
  • in Additional Settings, uncheck “Use conversation data in your GPT to improve our models” for more privacy.

Favorite Private GPTs

Private Cover Letter GPT

I uploaded my resume, chatted with the configuration tool telling it to create something that drafted a cover letter every time I provide a job description. Now, I can open my GPT, paste in a job description, and it immediately starts drafting a cover letter. So convenient and fast! The best part is, over time I have continued to “train” my GPT to better write in my voice and have it provide an ATS rating is so that I can quickly determine if this job is a good fit.

Image description

Private Chef GPT

I have another private GPT that helps with meal planning. I uploaded our family cookbook so that it can suggest creating our favorite meals. My wife will take a picture of the pantry and fridge and allow it to suggest what to cook for dinner. The meals have been excellent!

When meal planning, it started off by outlining complicated 3 course meals. This is where a private GPT is way better than a collection of favorite prompts. We were able to simply talk to the configuration tool and tell it we preferred more budget friendly and easy to cook meals. Now when we start a chat with our Private Chef GPT, it knows how big my family is, our favorite family recipes, and how we prefer to meal plan.

Here is what it looks like when editing the GPT. You literally have a conversation with the configuration tool, and it programs the GPT for you.

Image description

What Private GPT should I create next?

(featured image credit Dalle3)

Top comments (0)