DEV Community

Joe Hobot
Joe Hobot

Posted on

Bilingual Devs What Language Are You Thinking in?

I speak 5 languages fluently and often I get asked what language I am thinking in. Been in the states for 20 years I can say that most of my thinking is in English however from time to time I catch my self thinking in different languages even when I am working on some project.

How about you ?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
manuelojeda profile image
Manuel Ojeda

Well I have an issue while coding because our institute all our devs are spanish speakers and sometimes I have an issue if I have to code at english or in spanish. If I follow the standards should be in english but after all I finish doing some kind of spanglish 😅

Collapse
 
papaponmx profile image
Jaime Rios

I speak Spanish and English.

It depends on the context, whenever I am reading or listening to a podcast, I am thinking in English.

Other than that I think mostly in my mother language, which is Spanish. When I try to express something I tend to use false cognates.

Collapse
 
bhupesh profile image
Bhupesh Varshney 👾 • Edited

Ah my mind in always speaking Hindi, but it gets converted to English as I write code :)

Collapse
 
hegargarcia profile image
Hegar Garcia

I speak Spanish, English and French; Most of the time when I'm developing, I'm thinking in English but when I have a problem or bug, I found helpful to think about the problem in other languages. Give it a try!!

Collapse
 
nishantwrp profile image
Nishant Mittal

After reading your question, I started to think and reached the conclusion that I don't really know in which language I think while programming. While I'm sure it gets converted to english finally when I write the code :P.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

Ballerina

ballerina.io/

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

I meant thinking in, not programing language.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

Esperanto

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I think in English, sometimes in Python

Collapse
 
chioukhhmimi profile image
Chioukhhmimi

I speak french Arabic Amazigh ( native language) English I'm thinking in Amazigh ofc but sometimes English lol and ofc code in English

Collapse
 
jozsefsallai profile image
József Sallai

English. But when it comes to counting, I find that easier to do in my native language.

Collapse
 
mugisha23 profile image
Mugisha Charbel Michael

Jump between French and English