DEV Community

Joëlle
Joëlle

Posted on

My Journey Thus Far - Day 1

I have been learning coding seriously since July and one of the things I want to do is document what I learn everyday and track what I do. The goal is to use this as a motivation for those days that I am feeling like I am not getting it. I also love seeing the progress I make in what I know.

So, what have I been doing?

I have taken some bootcamp prep courses. I was due to start at Lambda in August and finished their prep course but due to changes in work, I couldn't focus on that and decided that while I am figuring work out, I will continue to learn on my own.

One of the first things I realized was that I was not as comfortable with HTML and CSS as I thought. The prep courses barely spent a section on them. So I had to get better and I decided to do the Colt Steele Udemy course. While I learned a lot, I still wanted to know more about CSS and that is when I purchased Brad Traversy's Modern HTML and CSS course. I am 70% done with the course and I must say, it delivered. I feel more confident about my CSS skills but I must practice and do more projects on my own.

I have read enough about other coder's journey to be aware of tutorial purgatory. To that end, I created my own curriculum and I am sticking to it. This is what it looks like so far:

1- Colt Steele HTML/CSS
2- Brad Traversy - Modern HTML & CSS From The Beginning.
3- Colt Steele - Bootstrap Section
4- Odin Project - HTML & CSS
5- Brad Traversy - Sass Section
6- Free Code Camp Responsive Web Design Projects

I don't limit myself to just these as a learning resource. I read documentation, watch other short videos and read other's solutions. I just did not want to jump from course to course but also didn't want to just complete one. I've learned different as each teacher prioritize something that the other does not go over.

I am projecting to complete this section by end of October/ early November and then I'm on to JavaScript. I have a general idea for that part but I am looking into how HTML and CSS goes and see if there are any changes to how I study. I will share when I have that planned out.

I am happy to be a part of this community and I am open to feedback.

Top comments (0)