DEV Community

Josh Rees-Haughton
Josh Rees-Haughton

Posted on

Yahtzee terminal game in Python

For the final project for the "CS101: Introduction to Programming" course at Codecademy, I have created a single-player, terminal based Yahtzee game.

Here is a screenshot from the end of a round:

Image description

I've used an Object-oriented approach while coding, and plan to do go over it and refactor after discussing with others and getting a bit more experience. I'm sure there are plenty of inefficiencies and non-best practice things in there, but I wanted to get something working just using my knowledge so far and then come back after seeing how other people approach programming the game. It will be interesting to look at various other implementations!

At the moment, a version that is playable for a single round of the game can be found here:

https://github.com/JoshRees-Haughton/yahtzee

In the near future I plan to implement:

  • Being able to play multiple games in a row
  • High score saving (global and per player)
  • The option to choose between various rulesets for certain aspects of the game before starting

Top comments (0)