DEV Community

Joe Previte (he/him)
Joe Previte (he/him)

Posted on

Code Models: a Twitter list of role models in the programming industry

In school and sports, my teachers and coaches encouraged me to find a "role model" - someone whom I could look up to. Someone who I wanted to be like.

It gave me direction because I told myself,

"I want to be like them when I'm older. I want to positively impact the world like them."

This practice of finding people who we admire can inspire us to "be the change in the world, [we] want to see."

I thought it would be fun to take this idea and create what I'm calling "Code Models" - a list of role models in the programming industry.

What is a List on Twitter and why use it?

I'll quote Twitter directly:
A List is a curated group of Twitter accounts. You can create your own Lists or subscribe to Lists created by others. Viewing a List timeline will show you a stream of Tweets from only the accounts on that List.<br>

The distinction between this and just following those people is essentially "grouping people in one place".

When you look at your Timeline, you see tweets from everyone you follow versus a List only shows tweets from people on that list.

sheep giving a thumbs up

I didn't think it would make sense to make a website for this. And most of us already spend time on Twitter anyway.

Easiest solution then was to create a List on Twitter so that you could easily add the people you look up to. This will help you see what they're doing and what they're sharing in one centralized place.

I started making my list, which you can subscribe to but I suggest going forth and making your own! 😄

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

Most of my Twitter timeline is dedicated to developers I look up to that there's no point in pulling a list out of it. It'd be almost the same size! 😄

Collapse
 
jsjoeio profile image
Joe Previte (he/him)

That's fantastic, Phil! 😊

You make a great point.

I guess my thought was this: say I follow 1,000+ (and obviously I believe I can learn something from everyone), you create the list so it's a bit more narrowed down of these "role models" or people who have a large impact on their communities.