DEV Community

Cover image for Do your own research 🔍
Kasper Mróz
Kasper Mróz

Posted on

Do your own research 🔍

Hi there! This post is just expressing a thought that popped into my mind after spending some time browsing through DEV. The philosophy behind it is simple - question everything you read on the Internet.

The abundance of information 🤯

There is so much content for us to consume. I've been a member of DEV for just about a week and I couldn't be happier about it. I see many great, valuable posts everyday. However, I've also seen some posts that were completely not true.

The source of truth 🤔

Personally, whenever I write about something which I didn't entirely make up (unlike this post), I like to include sources. Not only does it give credit for actual authors, but also it provides people with a shortcut for validating everything they've just read - and even more! Isn't that great? I encourage each one of our awesome posters to do exactly the same thing. It will only increase your credibility!

We're all learning 🤓

Please keep this one in mind. Learning is the inherent part of our job, something all of us have to do constantly in order to remain relevant. I'll speak for myself here - I'm not an expert on many things I'd love to master. Yet. If I post about something, I have just enough understanding of it that I can confidently share it with everyone. In case anyone questions it in the comments, I should have enough knowledge to freely discuss about it. But it doesn't make anything I write an undisputed truth.

Keep on being nice! 🤗

If you ever see someone who is incorrect - don't be a jerk! I haven't seen any inappropriate behaviour on DEV, and it makes me super proud of being a part of the community. All the comments pointing out mistakes were kept in a friendly tone, rather than attacking authors. And we should put extra effort to keep it up! 🔥

Wrap up 🎗

There's plenty of information available for everyone. Whenever you read something related to a subject yet unknown to you, make sure to double check it - for instance, see the official React docs after reading a blog post about hooks. 🪝

Thanks for reading! I know that doing research for your own is probably obvious for most of the people here. However, a short reminder doesn't hurt!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
koprowski_it profile image
Daniel Koprowski

Optimize for Retention, not Consumption.

Interesting. This year I read way fewer books than usual. I just feel overwhelmed with reading a lot.

Instead of that this year I try to actually implement knowledge from few books that I have constantly on my desk.

Collapse
 
jmdejager profile image
🐤🥇 Jasper de Jager • Edited

Good article!

Learning is the BEST part of the job!! 🕵️‍♂️💻🧐
Totally agree that dev.to is a good community to be a part of 😎😎

Collapse
 
kaspermroz profile image
Kasper Mróz

I like this principle, sounds reasonable!