DEV Community

Cover image for Building an app using 5 JavaScript Frameworks - Introduction
Balaji Jayakumar
Balaji Jayakumar

Posted on • Updated on

Building an app using 5 JavaScript Frameworks - Introduction

The last thing the world needs is another Javascript Framework - Jeff Delaney

Intro

I started my professional Software Engineering journey in 2020 and have been working on Angular since then. I wanted to try out the other frameworks and wanted to document the learning along the way.
What better way to learn something than by building something with it? So let's build the same application on all 5 Frameworks and perform a comparison
I'm going to rank these frameworks along the way on a few parameters.

  • Learning Curve
  • Community
  • Ease of Use
  • Developer Experience

The Application

I wanted the application to have a certain set of features to replicate real-world application development. We'll be building a single-page application that lists the repositories for a GitHub user. This application will have

  • Routing
  • Data Store
  • API Interaction

I'll be using Typescript, ESLint, and prettier as a standard for code hygiene and Bootstrap for styling

The Frameworks

Choosing the frameworks was one of the less complex part in this entire journey. I wanted to make sure I cover almost all the variants in the front-end category and did not want to miss some of the latest and greatest meta-frameworks for SSR. After a few minutes of research I ended up with this list.

Conclusion

You can checkout the apps here.

The choice of what framework to use is completely dependent on the problem you are trying to solve. Each framework has its own sets of pros and cons that may aid or hinder the solution you would like to build for your specific problem.

I'd also like to include this cool guide to frameworks in 2023 by @t3dotgg
cool guide to frameworks in 2023

Top comments (0)