DEV Community

Krinskumar Vaghasia
Krinskumar Vaghasia

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - My First PR

After trying my hands on a lot of different open source repos and failing, I finally decided to start easy and at least get something going by picking an easy issue.

The issue

In this issue I was supposed to outline the tech stack of what the repo was using and make a new doc file that contained every technological aspect of this repo. This was a fairly new open source project, so majority of my docs was speculative on what I could gather based on other files. But it still was a good start and refresher to the world of open source and hacktoberfest. I was kind of skeptical that "this could not be this easy, there has to be something more that I can add" and more thoughts in the same direction. So I made an architecture diagram to make things easier for programmers to understand. I had to do a little of research as to what each component of the stack was used for and why it was chosen because all of this was to be covered in the my new doc. Below is the diagram that I made.

Image description

PR

I finally gathered up courage to make my PR and add all the necessary description. And it was hit, I even got invited to the discord server that the organizers had which is very exciting. This was a very easy issue for me. The purpose of this was to get some momentum for hacktoberfest and refresh my open source and git skills. I am very excited to take on more challenging tasks. so stay tuned for my next hacktoberfest blogs.

P.S. I forgot to make a new branch and pushed to main in my version of the fork!!.

Top comments (0)