DEV Community

Krishna Agarwal
Krishna Agarwal

Posted on

How many programming languages do you know?

I know around 5

Comment down your number below ⤵️

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
polterguy profile image
Thomas Hansen

I started creating software when I was 8, and I'm 48 today, so this is probably a bit unfair to use as comparison, but I'm not sure about the exact number, but I know the basics of some roughly 50+ programming languages, maybe 100+, but of course most of these aren't really around anymore, such as Oric 1 BASIC, etc ... ;)

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

Deine "knowing a language".
If it's being able to code with them, then almost any in few minutes.
If it's knowing the API then the number is much narrower 😂

If you take in mind that I coded professionally with some languages but it has been like 7 or 8 years since the last time I coded with them, one can say that I "unlearned" them through time 🤷🏻‍♀️

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo • Edited

So many, I don't count them (from Z80 asm -> TS, Rust). But take look rebol created by Carl Sassenrath, same guy who is maded the Amiga operating system. This language is very short, If I right console version around 1M ... but I'm afraid that lanuages is over, I try to get current version, but download page is empty ... so rebol just keep in my memory.

I also created two script languages under flash action script. One of them help made a longer interactive animation, and other one is base for Narnia collectible card game - never released.

Easy to fall to infinite loop, with exploration of computer programming languages .

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

Hard to say, what's your definition of "knowing" a language?

Collapse
 
deozza profile image
Edenn Touitou

It depends of your definition of language and of "kmowing".

If I count only those I master, I'd say PHP and TS/JS. Maybe MySQL

If I add those I'm learning, there will be GoLang and Elixir.

And then, if I add those I learnt at school and never touched again, there's python, Java, Bash and C.

So I know something about 3 and 9.

Collapse
 
scanepa profile image
Stefano Canepa

None. I developed in many but languages continue to evolve so as soon as I stop using one of them you cannot say I know it.

Collapse
 
aditya_kumar profile image
Aditya Kumar

I know 6 programming language.

Collapse
 
nissi_ngandu profile image
Nissi Ngandu

Depends on what "Knowing a language" means.

I know in between 5-7 languages.

Expert in any? right now I don't think so

Collapse
 
dhanashreerugi profile image
Dhanashree Rugi

ooopssss!!!!!!! i know only one!!!!!!!!
.
.
.
.
but its a C language!!!!!!!
like a ocean deep and vast.