DEV Community

Cover image for Can we all try to bring back upterm?
Kyriakos Michael
Kyriakos Michael

Posted on

Can we all try to bring back upterm?

I believe I'm not the only one who is using the terminal as a web developer.

With that said, I'm always trying to find new terminal applications that are going to give me that little boost as a developer.

Looking up, while ago I discovered this. The Upterm project.

I was impressed. I was impressed because of the simplicity but also, the new tone was giving while I was executing commands.

Writing this post to see how we can re-start this project and get it back to life.

I do hope that you guys have the same concerns as me and that we can together try to bring back the upterm in a stable and working process.

Here is the GitHub Repo that has been archived:
https://github.com/railsware/upterm

Let me know you're though on this, and we can try to continue together this much-underrated project!

🚧 πŸ— πŸš₯

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B πŸš€ • Edited

I don't think you'll get many people to download and use a terminal based on electron. Most terminals use minimal system resources. With that being said there are quite a few terminals out there. Upterm autocomplete can probably be supplemented with fish shell autocomplete.

Collapse
 
kyriakosmichael profile image
Kyriakos Michael

I do believe that performance is a key metric!
I'm mostly referring to the Interface that term had with a static input field and most distinguished terminal execution.

I would love to see a project to apply this kind of Interface on iterm for example!

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B πŸš€

Are you talking about the popup as you type, or something else?

Collapse
 
darksmile92 profile image
Robin Kretzschmar

I didn't looked into it that deep, but from playing around with it half an hour after setting it up in a similar way I use zsh, I came to the same conclusion: it is much slower in comparison to my zsh setup (on an arch box).
simple find command on a directory with 250 files and no subfolders used twice as much system resources with upterm.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

It would be interesting if we could make something to include "gui components" into any cli. The people at repl.it have some interesting ideas.

command line demo

a form in a cli

Those demos come from this blog post.

Collapse
 
kyriakosmichael profile image
Kyriakos Michael

I like your Points. Let's see what we can do about it!

Would you prefer this in a new Terminal or use it as a plugin/extension to an existing one?

I'm mostly referring to iterm since it is what I'm using right now.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

If you know about a terminal that has a plugin system capable of doing something like that, that would be lovely. Though it would have to be cross-platform 'cause i'm using linux.

Thread Thread
 
kyriakosmichael profile image
Kyriakos Michael

No, I don't have in mind anything like that. But, we can try and build it somehow.

Collapse
 
lucastrvsn profile image
Lucas Trevisan

I was thinking about this today and I don't know this already exists. I want to integrate many features using CLUI with neovim. I love working on the terminal and I love to have graphical features as well!