DEV Community

Cover image for Hello, dev.to
Tong Liu
Tong Liu

Posted on

Hello, dev.to

Hi there, this is my first ever post on dev.to, let me just start off by talking about why I choose to be a programmer and why I specifically love open source.
To me computer always has a magic, I fell in love with my first ever computer immediately on the first day I saw it. Initially the first couple of weeks of me using my computer, I barely got any gist of how to use it, however, as I used it more, I got more interests on how computers actually work and wanted to write my own program. My enthusiasm of computer software development starts from here.
When I was graduated from high school(grades 9 to 12), I heard about the concept of open-source and I was fascinated by it, because I love sharing cool stuff with others, and also I love using cool stuff created by others. The spirit of open-source touches me due to the fact that open-source community promotes the creed of free-software licensing, and people in this community collaborate with each other and everyone involved in it can bring up new features and concepts into the project and eventually get implemented.
After I moved to Canada and started my first degree here, I was lucky enough to be able to enroll in the BSD program to symmetrically learn what I love to do. Fortunately, we have a class regarding open-source in this program, I chose this class as soon as it has available spot, this is because I wish to learn more knowledge about git and use this class as an opportunity to get myself more involved into GitHub community.
Also, this class provides us an opportunity to work on our personal project which can help me exceed other competitors in my future job. The project I would like to work is a VPN app running on Android that helps users to bypass the censorship and keep their network flow safe. I will investigate further into it to gain more technological details about it.

Top comments (0)