DEV Community

Todd Walton
Todd Walton

Posted on

Me, a Developer

Hey there. My name is Todd. I'm a sysadmin, and like most sysadmins I've been working on expanding my skills into the area on the other side of "the wall". You know, the wall that people throw things over when they get so focused on one thing that they can't partner effectively with co-workers to get their projects done. The wall that divides IT into coders and operators, developers and sysadmins, and so on.

I am a "DevOps engineer" at a midsized business in Wilmington, North Carolina. We provide SaaS to customers across the U.S. I was hired at a time when the company was transitioning to a DevOps mindset. My new co-worker had been working on transforming our applications to run on OpenShift. He had a strong developer background, and my own is on the operations side. But we both like process! And we both wanted to bring our ideas about how to make IT work better to fruition.

In this new year, I want to learn Python. It's not our preferred development or scripting language at work, but there is room in the environment for whatever works. So that's what I intend to write about here, as well as scripting and OS stuff that I find interesting.

Top comments (0)