DEV Community

Luis H Gonzales
Luis H Gonzales

Posted on

The Rook vs. The Bishop football game board: A beginner attempt

Intro:

Hello everyone, my name is Luis, and this is the first blog and first python project post I am sharing with everyone since it is one requirement I had to do instructed by Codecademy. Before explaining my project, let me tell you a short story about myself, one of the many attributes I would like to share.
Historic mountain in Peru, Machu Picchu.[image 1. Machu Picchu]

I was born and raised in Peru (Yes, Machu Picchu is in Peru), a developing country with curious people trying to learn new things. At 18, I moved to California, USA, thinking of attending school and learning about computer science. Well, I needed more resources to accomplish it. Then, I decided to join the military and became a Marine in 2014. I served for 9 years, and during those years, I was so focused on my military career that I completely lost interest in learning computer science. Furthermore, I was learning English because I knew little to nothing about the American language. I started college focusing on getting a degree, which I am 90% away from my Bachelor of Arts in Management.

I am transitioning from the military to civilian life, and let me tell you, that is not an easy life. I decided to move to Spain and live there(ยกOlรฉ!) while finishing my degree (online). I decided to organize my time and projects better since that is what I used to do when I took the role of an assistant detachment commander and other collateral duties. I am learning computer science in Codecademy including python. It is not like going to college and getting a degree in CS, but I am doing it to gain more knowledge and retaking the interest I left before joining the Marines.

New project: Football game board

squared-grid board as if playing battleship[image 2. Displayed football board]

As mentioned above, I am sharing a new project I took as a sample of the battleship game. This football game replaces the ships with the chess pieces, the bishop and the rook. It is pretty much the same concept but with newly added instructions. I am not really into building games, but that is what I had to do (I left the link in my program, which is commented on my project). I am still new at this, so 20% of this project was my idea since I tried to do it initially but failed. I only reached the point where I could print the board with numbers and letters as rows and columns but fail. However, with the battleship sample, I was finally able to run my game. I am still creating long lines of code, so I am still learning to keep it as cleaner as I can.
squared-grid board as if playing battleship[image 3. Enter your lucky number]
squared-grid board as if playing battleship[image 4. GOAL or MISS]

This game will consist of finding all bishops (b). The rook will be positioned at the goal as a goalkeeper -|R|-. The rook will be hard to score since it is a brick wall to get through its net :). So, a player must find a bishop by entering a number (for row number) and a letter (for column). If a player finds "one" bishop, an extra instruction will print as shown in the image 3. >>>"Great! you have found a bishop" >>>"Enter a lucky number 1,3, or 7." Once a player enters one of those three random numbers, the program will either tell you -|GOAL|- (as shown in image 4) you score or -|MISS|- you miss! You have 7 bishops(7 times you can try to score), and 21 turns to beat the rook. If you score, then you gain an extra turn. You can either bet with another player and decide the amount of goals you can make before finding all bishops or running out of turns. "Game over", the winner takes all $$$.
squared-grid board as if playing battleship[image 5. Game Over]

Conclusion:

Check out my GitHub and see my first project. I made lots of changes but hope you like the game, and I hope I continue coding without losing interest due to many fails I will face. I'm a noobbie; however, this is just the beginning of a new programming learning journey. This is what I do now, learning to code at the age of 28 (I know I am young af ':D). Hopefully, I am still on time to learn about the beauty of creating cool sh%1t. Even though. I give up sometimes, but I've got to get up and take small steps, one day at a time. One way to keep my grit is by listening to podcasts about resilience, motivation, and endurance. In addition, I am reading more articles and books about coding and computer science.

I look forward to sharing another post on how I maintain my resiliency and motivation. Before you leave, I want to leave a question for you in case you provide me some feedback, which will be much appreciated: Will the current advanced evolution of AI benefit new and experienced programmers, or will it lower the bar to encourage everyone to learn something besides coding?

Top comments (0)