DEV Community

luntan
luntan

Posted on • Updated on

The Cloud Resume Challenge with React

Image description
tldr: Completed the cloud resume challenge using a little bit of react. I really enjoyed the experience overall. Here is the finished website.

The experience can be fairly well split into the front end portion and the backend portion. In which you have the two stacks with the infrastructure associated with each, and there is a small connection between the two.

The first iteration I used HTML/CSS/JavaScript for the frontend portion, but upon further reading the book and seeing mention about making it my own I decided to use react afterwards completing the challenge. I am thankful that I didn’t have to design my resume from scratch, and instead used an existing LaTeX one that I had worked with a career advisor at university. Because of that, it was fairly straightforward to set up the outline and use CSS to get it to look right. I stored it on S3, and restricted/gave access using bucket policies.

The JavaScript was fairly straight forward. I decided to use the ipify api so that I could log who was accessing the resume, and potentially make a project using said data for geospatial visualization. The CORS portion was fairly straightforward, by far the hardest part of the front end application though. Just kept on bouncing back and forth from the frontend JavaScript to the backend API. Went ahead and created the CloudFront distribution as well.

I purchased a domain name, and used it for the CloudFront distribution. Steps 8 through 11 were kind of subsumed under 12(IaC). Once again fairly straight forward, except for the tests. I ended up testing the infrastructure to see if it was there and deployed appropriately. Finally, I slapped together two GitHub repos with some GitHub actions, and that was it.

I think the experience taught me quite a few things, especially with regards to hands-on application of concepts. For example, I thought I knew Route53 like the back of my hand conceptually, but the implementation using Route53 alongside the CloudFront distribution was the hardest part of the challenge for me.

Top comments (0)