DEV Community

Cover image for Do you use a subscription feature on your blog?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Do you use a subscription feature on your blog?

The subscription feature lets you inform your readers about the new content you have released.

Most blogging platforms offer that as a built-in feature, tho you can surely implement your own on your personal site too.

Do you use it in your blog/portfolio?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
daviddalbusco profile image
David Dal Busco

I added the RSS Feed support to my personal blog (as provided by Gatsby).

Not sure if anyone use it πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ.

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

i also have an rss feed. but when searching the log file, nobody read mine regulary. Buy I know a friend who added it to his online reader. however, I could not find more than the initial get in my log.

Collapse
 
yellow1912 profile image
yellow1912

I don't think rss is much used nowadays.

Thread Thread
 
daviddalbusco profile image
David Dal Busco

I tend to be agree with you, it would be cool to have some statistics about it.

Collapse
 
yellow1912 profile image
yellow1912 • Edited

The fact is, most of us don't post regularly (and with good enough content) to convince people to subscribe. Most of the time the subscription feature is like those newsletter box on many corporates websites. Most people don't even want to get in that mailing list even if they are paid for that.

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

people can subscribe to me here on dev: dev.to/bias.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Okay good one!

Collapse
 
shadowtime2000 profile image
shadowtime2000

I write on Hashnode which has a built in mailing list and RSS feed - I am thinking of using something like MailChimp though.

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

I didn't use it