DEV Community

Mariam Adedeji
Mariam Adedeji

Posted on

Nevertheless, Mariam Coded!

✨Happy International Women's Day! ✨

 

My most recent achievement

My most recent achievement this year so far is transitioning into Cloud engineering from Web development. It has not been a walk in the park, learning it with other things, but I never expected it to be. Having to dedicate a minimum of 5 hours a day to learn, provide solutions to tasks, and also document what I have learnt that day. Nevertheless, I’m happy for my growth, even with the obstacles and challenges.

Advocating for myself is not letting conscious or unconscious bias get to me as I try to navigate this industry. Documenting my journey on blogs and taking chances on myself.

My advice for allies to support underrepresented folks who code is...

  • Provide more jobs for underrepresented folks as there are many boot camps.
  • Underrepresented folks shouldn’t have to be 2x better or put in twice the work as others before they can be noticed and not underestimated.
  • Provide mentorship and training for underrepresented folks and take chances on them as you do adequately represented people.

Top comments (0)