DEV Community

Brian Masinick
Brian Masinick

Posted on

Distro hopping

How many of you keep several Linux distributions installed on one or more computer systems?

I've been doing it for 20+ years and I have had as many as 12-13 distributions installed at the same time on one system. I'm currently running 6-8 on my main laptop with an 8 TB disk drive and 8 GB of system memory.

I also have a few old (10 years+) systems that are good for testing "efficient" systems with minimal hardware requirements and support for aging hardware.

Lastly I have a recent generation smart phone and a current generation Chromebook so I can risk "breaking" something, though it seldom happens; I have to be either tired, careless or both.

Oh, I'm retired now so this is my stay at home hobby; my other hobby is water aerobics exercise.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
brandonwallace profile image
brandon_wallace

Why do you have so many different Linux distributions installed? I find that two is a good number to have, one Debian based and one Fedora based.