DEV Community

minat-hub
minat-hub

Posted on

MY HACKTOBERFEST JOURNEY

Meet Me

My name is Nike and the reason i joined the DEV community is because the link came with Hacktoberfest email so i don't really know what i am doing here (Kidding... or maybe i am not). I decided to participate in hacktoberfest because i wanted to learn how the whole open source thingy worked.

Background

I am completely brand new to open source, i mean at the beginning of October i didn't even know how Github worked. And my coding journey has been like just 3 months old but i can assure you that i have lots of projects under my belt. P.S how many project do i have to do before i get to senior developer level, that Tesla wouldn't buy itself.

Progress

My hacktoberfest journey has been kind of a roller coaster. After checking out the first project i wanted to contribute to, i did a lot of rubbish on my laptop for like 2 days then abandoned it for like 2 weeks because i seemed to be doing the opposite of everything i should be doing and i was getting quite frustrated yunno (Based on i can't come and kill myself). But my stubborn nature cannot allow me to leave a project unfinished so i sat down one day and said Nike you cannot miss the chance to get free T-shirt.

That day, i read all i could on how to create pull requests on github and got started on my open source journey. When you cross that first mile the rest of the journey becomes sweet and exciting. I would then go on to make 6 pull requests in 2 days. Now i am your go-to person for everything git and github. I love coding and building cool stuffs.

Contributions

Check out my contributions and projects on my github.

Reflections

I would definitely participate in another Hacktoberfest. I learnt a lot of things during this period especially perseverance. I didn't really make any interesting connections during the challenge (Maybe one) but i would love to know you my awesome reader so free free to hit me up. My next step in open source would be to find more projects i can contribute to so if you know any, please send me in the right directions.

Dear reader, follow me here i will write more articles in the future you will definitely learn from.

Top comments (0)