DEV Community

Cover image for The start of Open-Source development 🚀
Minh Hang Nguyen
Minh Hang Nguyen

Posted on

The start of Open-Source development 🚀

Hello World…

My name is Minh Hang Nguyen. I’m an international student from Hanoi, the capitol city of Vietnam and currently located in Markham, Ontario. I’m in my fifth semester with a hope to put my focus on web development.

Last summer, I was lucky to secure a co-op placement as a Quality Assurance Engineer. Even though I didn’t get to work directly with the source code, I had the chance to be exposed to a large codebase which got me so overwhelmed. I was wondering if there’s any way to get myself more familiar with this reality and got some recommendations from my friends that I might take this course. Before making my decision, I looked up some information about Open Source and found that I could have a chance to learn from various programmers with different logic and different coding styles. For this term, my goal is to be able to use Git effectively and make meaningful contributions to some Javascript open-source project. I also hope to be able to learn new technologies through different projects from other developers.

I’m interested in using React so react-use caught my attention right away. This repo provides various custom hooks that are very useful and widely used for us developers. There are also a lot of rooms for even more development.

Really looking forward to starting my journey with Open Source development from here!
Happy coding!!!!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
bemmio profile image
Edward Mike

Great article

Collapse
 
bemmio profile image
Edward Mike

I like it when women are into technologies,hard to find .

Collapse
 
minhhang107 profile image
Minh Hang Nguyen

Actually there are more and more women in tech industries nowadays. Hope we can keep it up 💪

Thread Thread
 
bemmio profile image
Edward Mike

Yeah...hope so