DEV Community

Muniro
Muniro

Posted on

How long before everything is done through...

Node.JS as a back-end server? Comparitively speaking, I can't see how for example, ASPNET Web API can compete with the way Node.JS deals with threading issues and serving fast and reliably back-end data to the front-end. Trust me I have been using ASPNET, since 2002 and have dismantled every object in the ASPNET pipeline. I am only talking about ASPNET vs Node.JS.
I think a lot of snobbery surrounds the usage of Node.JS.
It's seen as the alternative to the real world language for back-end servers?
Leaving that aside, Node.JS has a pluggable aspect to it. This makes it really attractive. You can add to a Node.JS enviroment, with tools, like Morgan - logging, and even a simple console colour painter like Marak's colours.
Of course, the latest ASPNET, .Net Core, has now been architected to enable modification and alteration to the middleware pipeline. And it supports multiple platform.
The battle isn't over yet!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
muniro profile image
Muniro

Thanks Justin. I have been using .Net core for a while and I know how it does compared to web forms. However, the ease with which you can "fetch" data using HTTP on Node.JS is much more simpler and much more intuitive. Though, I know .Net now has added Blazor and actually Blazor makes it a better experience all round.