DEV Community

Fernando Galvan
Fernando Galvan

Posted on

Full Circle in a Flask

Small Wins & Spotify

  • It's Sunday morning with a full day ahead of me, some oatmeal on my desk and a Discovery Weekly playlist I need to listen to...

Many YouTube and Flask documentation later, it is Sunday evening with a chicken sandwich with chips in my belly. I have connected my PostgreSQL database to my app (which I always thought I couldn't do without some sort of instructor). I have finally displayed my sample data on my page and I could not be happier. It has no style and the font is generic (speaking of generic...my discovery weekly playlist. Thanks Spotfiy) but it is a small win and I can't wait to fluster myself with some Valorant before bed.

To-Do App...my friend

  • It's Monday morning and too much caffeine later, my app.py is looking like I know what I'm doing.

With a little bit of debugging my database, and some syntax errors, I have a To-Do app using Flask. Anytime I succeed in rendering a button, or an input box, I smile because I think of how little I believed in my abilities months ago. To-do apps are such a great way to remind yourself that the complexity in your code is magnified by the weight of doubt. I can only speak to a newbie's experience, but nearly all my experience with programming has been clouded with a sense of inadequacy.

To rid yourself of this my friends, I suggest just starting with small apps, render anything you can, enjoy the small bugs in spelling, and remember that Steven Spielberg was rejected from 3 film schools. You continue...you learn. You learn...you adapt. You adapt, you thrive.

Snippet of my code:

Flask Code

Top comments (0)